Leek and Asparagus Quiche – Sundays with Joy

There is no doubt about it.  I have a new favourite cookbook.  Move over hummingbird bakery.  Stand aside Delia.  Joy The Baker is in town.  You can find her book here and, if you haven’t already, check out her blog.

I have poured over the recipes on Joy’s blog for a few years now, always loving her simple ideas and delicious recipes.  Everything she makes always seems to fit with just what I am craving that week and her recipes have always produced great results for me.  So needless to say when Joy released her cookbook I just had to order one!  And boy am I glad I did.  100 recipes of pure gorgeousness with cute little stories and introductions just like on her blog!

Front Cover Joy The Baker Cookbook

The second beginning to this story is me wanting to joining a baking group online and in real life (I have joined the Clandestine Cake Club but more on that another time).  The problem was that every group I looked at didn’t seem to have the right challenge for me.  Or I wasn’t particularly inspired by the themes.

Enter Sundays with Joy.  A match made in heaven for me – a cooking group online, and its using Joys book!

Asparagus, Leeks, and Cheese

I missed the first two recipes of scones and muffins but I have finally joined with a Leek and Asparagus Quiche with a puff pastry crust and a cheesy veggie laden filling it is scrumptious.  I am very late in posting this because of boring things like deadlines and an overload of work etc but now that has cleared I am free to blog the pictures of this fab dish!

Cooked Asparagus and Leek Quiche

It was light a fluffy, had a richness about it that I didn’t expect and the all butter puff pastry worked so well with the asparagus.  I made it for dinner when we had a few friends over and it went down a treat with every plate clear and some asking for second!  I coupled it with Potato Galette from on Yummy Supper and a simple salad.

Potato Galette - Yummy Supper

The process is very simple.  Fry leaks, then add asparagus. Line pie tin with pastry.

chop, fry, assemble

Whip up the cheesy creamy mix.  Place veg in pie crust, top with creamy filling, then sprinkle with cheese.

Simple yet elegant and the perfect summer recipe.

Filled Asparagus and Leek Quiche

The recipe calls for a 10 inch pie pan but I only had an 8 inch one which is very deep.  I made do and it turned out well. With some left over filling that I made mini quiches and froze some too.

Mini Asparagus and Leek Quiche

I also added extra nutmeg to the top to deepen the flavour and bring out the nuttyness of the leeks, which wasn’t very strong.  And I saved the asparagus tips (the best bit) and fried them off lightly to use as a pretty decoration!

Asparagus and Leek Quiche - Joy The Baker

The full recipe is in the book, which, for obvious reasons, I cannot share with you, but I can say without doubt that you will not be disappointed with this cookbook in the slightest, it has something for everyone!  (and it is a very reasonable price)

I will also be posting this week’s recipe soon which is avocado fries – to die for – and hopefully will catch up by the coming Sunday!

x Happy Baking x

10 thoughts on “Leek and Asparagus Quiche – Sundays with Joy

  1. What a pretty quiche. I love how you’ve arranged your asparagus. I had no idea Joy had a new cookbook out (have I been under a rock?) Her photography and bakes are always so gorgeous.

Comments

