When the dog bites, When the bee stings, When I’m feeling sad …

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

There is something about this movie that gives me goose bumps, listening to the opening notes of ‘doe a dear’ makes my skin prickle and gives me that warm glow inside!

I don’t know if it is because I’m not as sensitive as Julie Andrews but personally these are not the things that make me sad!  Not to mention that she was fighting the Nazis (obviously not her personally but in a roundabout way I guess!) surely things like bee stings and the like are the least of her problems? But I guess as an upbeat nun she was doing ok!

However, when I do feel sad a few of my favorite things to make the day a little brighter.

One of those is red velvet cupcakes – eating them, making them, icing them, giving them as gifts and smelling them.  It is one of my favorite cakes to make because of its light moist sponge with deep cocoa taste and light cream cheese topping, its contrasting colours and the great way it always looks.  But my favourite thing of all is the making of them and the way the batter turns from a placid, dull yellow to the most vibrant astonishing red and the exciting last minute fizz of the bicarbonate of soda too – GLORIOUS, forget brown paper packages tied up with string, this is what I want to cure me from a bee sting!

And so I thought I would share with you the recipe I use to make these fab little beauties that will knock your socks off and empower you to make dresses out of curtains! I split the recipe down to as little as 6 cupcakes so that you can match it to your ingredients or needs – also because they are best eaten on the day they are made, or the day after.

In a large bowl mix together the butter and sugar until fluffy and you can feel hardly any grains of sugar when testing

Slowly add the egg (slightly whished by hand) and mix until it is incorporated well

In a small separate bowl add the cocoa powder, food colouring, and vanilla extract and mix together until there is no sign of the cocoa – it should be a thick dark paste

Deep Red Magical Paste!

Add this glorious dark mixture to the butter and sugar bowl and mix until there are no signs of yellow butter mixture and everything is combined in a lovely reddy pink colour – make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl with your spatula too

{don’t you just love the colour of this spatula agaist this batter – AWESOME!}

Turn the mixer down to a slow speed and slowly pour in half of the buttermilk.  Beat until well mixed, than add half of the flour and beat slowly until this too is incorporated

Repeat this previous step again until all of the flour and buttermilk have been added a little at a time

Continue mixing until you have a smooth even mixture (be warned this batter mix is quite runny and will be more of a pourable mix than a scoop-able one!)

Add the bicarbonate of soda and the vinegar/lemon juice and mix for a further minute or two

Spoon the mixture into your chosen cases until about ¾ full and bake in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes.  Check after 18 minutes – they are done when they spring back to the touch and do not wobble – when done place on a cooling rack to cool completely before icing

For the Full recipe as a downloadable PDF click HERE

So when you’re feeling sad make up a batch of these lovelies and take them to a friends house and eat as many as you can!

And just remember your favourite things!

4 thoughts on “When the dog bites, When the bee stings, When I’m feeling sad …

  1. You are beginning to make me even think about taking up baking as it all looks and sounds so wonderful and as for the poetry Kate……..brilliant:-) x

  2. I must confess that I’ve never made red velvet cake or cupcakes…and I only actually ate one a few months ago. So yummy! Yours look so delicious and I love the pics of the gorgeous red batter. It almost sparkles! I’m pinning and gonna make these some day, for sure. While watching the Sound of Music, of course. Awesome movie!

Comments

